2005-03-01 - 11:12 a.m.

As spring threatens to unleash its lifeforce upon us, I feel a familiar longing inside my being. I begin to lust for fresh, juicy produce, and my body is alert to the many opportunities that the world holds. I am beginning to think about starting a business and getting in shape; and suddenly the world seems a little lighter -- things don't seem quite so difficult to handle.

That being said, the one thing holding me back from fully embracing the spring season is a nasty cold I've been fighting. It started off as a cough and has now officially moved into my nasal passages. The ominous green snot oozing from my nose causes me to panic as I envision dealing with a 4 week old sick baby by myself. Not a pretty picture. As a result, Purell has become my best friend. Forget my essential oils, my new fragance du jour is spit up and sanitation gel. Yum.

Last night I had a raging headache and took Tylenol Cold and Flu (I haven't been able to fall asleep lately due to the hacking cough). Unfortunately, the baby did not have a good night of sleep and kept waking drugged out Mommy every hour-and-a-half. Each time she was hungry but would only eat for 15 minutes. No wonder she kept waking up! She wouldn't eat a full meal, preffering instead to snack. This new habit does not make me happy and I'm going to have to nip it in the bud pretty quickly. But damn, I cannot deal with correcting the habit at 3 a.m. in the morning, on a weekday. Especially drugged up - I would be useless handling a screaming baby.

Yesterday she had a smile workout session. Yes, yes, I'm sure it probably was gas, but let's just say I've never seen her "pass" so many smiles before! I truly think she's practising her little smiling muscles. I can't wait until she's smiling voluntarily; that will be one of the happiest days of my life and will make all of the heretofore chaos worth it.

It's a beautiful but chilly day in Austin, Texas. Yesterday I took two walks and felt alive with the sun's energy. I think I will try and take another walk today. I hope it's not too cold for the baby. In case you can't tell, I am not a winter person. I live for the spring and summer seasons, and now that I'm no longer pregnant, I crave the radiant heat of summer. I love the sun, and I'm so over the gray, gloomy, rainy days.

My mom is coming down tomorrow. I'm hoping that we can run to the nursery because I'd like to pick up a lavender and patchouli plant. I've decided to pick up a new hobby: making my own essential oils. I love essential oils but damn, they're expensive. This is just the type of hobby I need.

I also want to see about planting a vegetable garden and I'd like my Mom's feedback about where to plant. We are blessed with two gigantic oak trees, covering our yard with shade. But alas, there is very little sun with which to nurture yummy veggies.

Well, gotta get some stuff done before the baby awakes from her nap. I'm covered in spit up and would like to change clothes and maybe even brush my teeth!

Love,
Nancy

yesterday - today - profile - diaryland - email - leave me a note - diaryrings

Moving to a new home - 2005-03-28
Grumpy mommy - 2005-03-17
at last - an update! - 2005-03-16
Ahh - spring is upon us - 2005-03-01
I finally have a spare 5 minutes. - 2005-02-26